when you haven’t run in a year

Maybe this title is an overstatement.

I definitely ran last year.  For the year 2015, I logged 289.5 miles.  Yeah, yeah, yeah, that number can “seem” high, especially for those of you who may not be too keen on running.  But let’s dig in a little closer, shall we?

289.5 miles in a year. For 52 weeks in a year, that means I ran about 5.5 miles a week.

Five miles a week? Really? Yeah. It truly feels as though I haven’t run in a year.  At least, I definitely took a gooooood looooong running hiatus–and well deserved! I went from race after race, half marathon to marathon, to half marathon, to whatever else and I surely got burnt out. I hated it. All 289.5 of those miles last year? 100% forced.  I had to drag myself outside and I really can probably say I enjoyed about 5% of those miles. I needed a break.

Hence the run-pause.

But how necessary and rejuvenating that break was.  It was like a new friend, beckoning me toward her for new adventures, new experiences.  Let’s try something different out.  Let’s go a different path.

My time was spent elsewhere, places exciting and refreshing–diving in to a new job in an area I was anxious to live in, exploring my new city through the urban hikes I became known for, falling in love quickly and whole-heartedly with my new best friend, dining in restaurants and cuisines my taste buds soon continually craved.

However, as I mentioned when I reintroduced myself back to the blogging world, I want to rediscover my love for running. As 2016 fell upon me, I knew the break had to come to an end.  It was time to start thinking about seriously lacing up those shoes to pound the pavement again, to wake up in the wee hours of the morning for runs, to remember what it felt like to run over three miles at a time.  It was time to find that will to reach the finish line, to take one step further, to push my strength that much longer.

The San Francisco Marathon has now offered me the opportunity to do just that. I was lucky enough to be chosen as an ambassador for the race series and I couldn’t be more excited! This city is where I ran my first 26.2 back in 2012, and it seems only fitting to be back in this city–this city I now call home–as I return to the sport.

How happy I am to be back. The cold air in the morning, the warm sweat in the evenings, my heart pumping, the sore feet, the sweaty sports bras, the loads and loads of laundry–I love all of them. I love welcoming them back with open arms–the old friends just waiting to be together at last, waiting for me to return.

Welcome home.  It feels good to be back.

Care to join me for a casual run in San Francisco? Register using code “TSFM2016JANINE” for $10 off the full or halfs or use “TSFM2016JANINE5K” for $5 off the 5K!

 

One thought on “when you haven’t run in a year

Leave some love

