hello it’s me

Hello, how are you?

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?!

November 7, 2014—that was the last time I sat down to write, to spill out my thoughts, to share my experiences through my words. Even before that, it had been months since I had regularly taken the time to be present in this blog.

A lot sure has happened since then.

I was wondering if after all these years you’d like to meet.

I have now been living in beautiful San Francisco for over year. New people are in my life, new friends, new partners, new family. I meander through different streets, have new favorite restaurants and eateries, prepare myself different breakfasts. I find myself running different running routes with new sites.

It feels as though the moments I once called San Diego home were another lifetime ago.

I’m in California dreaming about who we used to be.

While I have loved every journey I have taken since leaving America’s Finest City, from the mountains of Montana, to meeting Karl the fog in San Francisco, I have lately found myself wanting more, dreaming about more, reminiscing about the past.

That’s what 2016 is about. It’s about taking a step and finding my way back to all those aspects of my life that once filled me with so much joy, but which has been replaced since my life back in San Diego.

I want to rediscover my love for running. I want to find that space back on the mat in my yoga practice again. I want to find that community in church. I want to come back to writing.

It’s weird to come back to this blog after over a year; I am nervous and afraid again—exactly like I had described in the first blog post I wrote here, that “writing and sharing your stories can leave you vulnerable.” Well isn’t that for sure! Apparently time away can bring that fear back. But what I reminded myself when I started this blog and what I will continue to remind myself as I come back to writing is the joy and strength I found by being here. I am excited to find that again.

In that first blog post I wrote, my friend Kenzie reminded me of the following Brené Brown quote which still stands true today:

“Owning our stories and loving ourselves through that process is the bravest thing we will ever do.”

So cheers to rediscovery, to reintroducing myself to all I once loved, including this space. Stay tuned for adventures!

Leave some love

