Giving up the amazing for … the possibly even more amazing!

“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.” – Mahatma Gandhi

It’s funny how life works.  Just a little over a month ago, I wrote about how much I loved working at The Rush Indoor Cycling Studio, and how lucky I was to be a part of such an amazing team.

Well, friends, I have some exciting news I have been itching to share with you all:

Backroads

I’m off to new adventures.

I know, what?!

I was recently offered a position with an active travel company called Backroads, which I decided to accept (check them out, they were listed in 2013 by Outside as one of the 100 best places to work!).  Throughout the summer, I will be helping make travel and vacation dreams a reality as I work for Backroads camping trips.  Deciding to accept the position was both exhilarating and terrifying, as of course, it requires me to leave my home of sunny (and incredbly warm) San Diego–where I have lived the past 6 years.  As my time here quickly winds down, I ask myself the constant questions such as,

“WHY ARE YOU LEAVING AMERICA’S FINEST CITY DURING THE BEST SEASON OF THE YEAR?!”

“WHY ARE YOU LEAVING YOUR AMAZING FRIENDS?”

“WHY ARE YOU LEAVING AN AMAZING JOB WITH A COMPANY AND TEAM YOU LOVE?”

and the list of questions continues.

But the last question has been ringing in my ear ever since I had to tell the team I was leaving (close to tears, I might add).  Why leave a great job?  Well, of course, the answer is clear.  This is an opportunity like no other–one I would feel incredibly ridiculous if I passed up.  The chance to travel, to chance to be brave, the chance to meet new people, the chance to serve–all aspects of life and a job I aim to have.  

I have an amazing job.  But sometimes we have to give up something amazing to make room for something that could quite possibly be … horrifying? … but is more likely to be life-changing.  Yes, I have fears, and yes, I know there will be moments I feel uncomfortable this summer, due to being away from a stable home/bed, living out of a suitcase, bugs and possible less than ideal weather (I’ve lived in Southern California my whole life, guys, give me a break), less personal time I am used to, etc., but haven’t we all heard that growth comes from being uncomfortable?  Those fears are simply obstacles to jump over, and I cannot wait to grow with Backroads!  For those of you in San Diego, I will be heading out on May 27!  Best wishes until then and onward!

The Rush

To everyone at The Rush, both team members and clients–thank you for all of the smiles, laughter, and dance parties on the bike :)

jn

Leave some love

