Music of a … Relay? – Ragnar Relay SoCal 2014

Ragnar Relay SoCalFriends! Exciting news! Just a few more days until I run the Ragnar Relay SoCal.  If you’re unfamiliar with Ragnar (just as I am, this will be my first relay!), take a spin through their website; Ragnar has relays all around the country and consists of 12 person teams (or for ultra runners, 6 person teams) over two days, running under the sun and under the stars.  Here in beautiful Southern California, the course spans from Huntington Beach to San Diego and is deemed to be one of the most popular–clearly because of location and the course! There’s a reason I am a Southern California girl, all ;)

Course Map

The team I am a part of consists of a total of 12 people, and I am excited to share a van with many of my relatives–Stephanie (our team captain), Rael, and my  cousins Jon and Joe.  I am sure two full days with my family will be a heck of an experience and mainly I cannot wait to laugh with my cousins!

Here are what the legs look like:

Runner DistancesI have been placed as runner 1, and I will be running a total of 25.9 miles over the course of the two days.  I’ll be honest, I’m both excited and nervous!  After the LA Marathon a few weeks ago, I was itching for a running break, but there was no such time for one!  I’m not concerned about the distance this upcoming weekend; I know my body and with so much running and so much training under my belt the past couple of months, I’m sure I will be fine.  The excitement over a brand new race and a brand new experience with the relay sure helps as well.  But can I tell you a secret?  I plan on taking a niiiiiice break from running after Ragnar (meaning at least longer than a week, HA!).

Not only is Ragnar my first relay, but it is also my first time fundraising for a cause and organization.  If you’re unaware, April is Child Abuse Prevention Awareness Month, and I am running Ragnar as a part of the Orange County Child Abuse Prevention Center team.

Join-the-Fight-BannerCan you spare $10 to change the life of a child?  What small sacrifice can you make this week in order to make a huge impact?  If you would like to support me and the rest of the team, please click here to donate!  Anything helps!

Music wise, I must say that this playlist consists of a lot of country.  Stagecoach is coming up in just a few short weeks (!!!) and I have been getting so pumped for it.  Running 25.9 miles to mostly country music will definitely add to that!

  • “19 You + Me” – Dan + Shay
  • “Give Me Back My Hometown” – Eric Church
  • “We Were Us” – Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert
  • “Lost At Sea” – Zedd and Ryan Tedder
  • “Back to Earth” Original Mix – Futuristic Polar Bears
  • “Alive” – Empire of the Sun
  • “This Is How We Roll” – Florida Georgia Line
  • “Cop Car” – Keith Urban
  • “Show You Off” – Dan + Shay
  • “First Time Feeling” – Dan + Shay (this whole album is just a fave of mine)
  • “All My Friends Say” – Luke Bryan
  • “Storm Warning” – Hunter Hayes
  • “Drink a Beer” – Luke Bryan
  • “Raise ‘Em Up” – Keith Urban and Eric Church
  • “It Goes Like This” – Thomas Rhett
  • “Lovely” – Sara Haze
  • “Cowgirl” – Tyler Farr

See you along the coast!

jn

3 thoughts on “Music of a … Relay? – Ragnar Relay SoCal 2014

Leave some love

