Falling back in love with San Diego

photothe day I leave the ocean will be a very, very sad day

Sometimes, it baffles me that I have now been living in San Diego almost six years now.  Time flies, and before I knew it, I’d moved away from home, gotten a degree, gotten a job, quit a job, and then it’s years later and it’s difficult to remember how I truly spent my time.

San Diego is a city very near and dear to my heart– a city that has so much to offer.  I mean, come on, as I had heard many times during college, we live where you spring break.  Its nickname is “America’s Finest City,” and anyone who visits can see why.  I always remember a flight I took back to San Diego in 2011 after visiting my best friend Sarah in New York City; the flight attended greeted us as we landed with, welcome to paradise, and I often I forget that I do live in a fantastic city.

382375_10150941264703209_444108970_n

My alma mater (University of San Diego) alone, is paradise enough.  If you have not visited before, I highly recommend it!

Often, San Diego feels like home to me more than my hometown of Irvine does; I know my way around, I have my favorite food spots, I know where to go and what to do on the weekends, I have favorites.

Yet, as large of a city/county as San Diego is, I have not nearly seen as much as I would love to see.  Often, I go to my typical spots–running routes I am familiar with (Mission Bay, Harbor Island, Torrey Pines), restaurants and lunch spots that I have loved for years with menus I know by heart, beach visits and views I frequent, but never get old.  However, there are hikes that I am itching to revisit, restaurants on my bucket list that I need to check off, even tourist spots that I have avoided, but see no reason why I should not visit.

Screen shot 2014-02-07 at 12.24.57 PM

One of my favorite running spots – Torrey Pines

I have always been an explorer, and I realized that all of these years in San Diego have allowed me to remain comfortable, when why should I?  There is no reason to ever be bored.  Stay engaged.  Stay interested!  There’s more to see, people to meet, and most importantly–food to eat ;)

It’s time to arrive, to feel new again, to feel foreign.  It’s time to feel the rush of excitement that only traveling and exploring can bring.  It’s time to fall in love with San Diego again–and I cannot wait to begin!

I wandered everywhere, through cities and countries wide. And everywhere I went, the world was on my side.”  – Roman Payne, Rooftop Soliloquy

jn

3 thoughts on “Falling back in love with San Diego

Leave some love

