monday mantra

Mondays can be rough.  Often, we dread the signal of the end of our weekend, our vacation, our time off.  Back to work, back to late nights, back to stress, back to reality.  When I worked in public accounting, I remember the struggle and I remember always having the “case of the Mondays,” but I knew I was not alone.  While I am out of that career, Mondays can still sneak up on me, and my early morning wake up calls can continue to have small instances of disgust.

There’s just something about Mondays that when heard or remembered, often brings dread.

Mondays may signal the end of a restful weekend, but they also signal a new, fresh start to the week.  Lately, I have been making a conscious effort to change my perspective, and I invite you to do the same.  I have personally been trying to start my week (and my mornings) with a positive mantra to get me through.  There is something special about waking up (and starting my week) with words that speak to me–words that I can continuously refer back to whenever the struggle throughout the day or week pops up.

By definition, a mantra is “a word or phrase that is repeated often or that expresses someone’s basic beliefs.”  While I may not necessarily stick with words or phrases, and might employ a much longer quote of some sort, for me, the idea is the same.  Whatever those words are, they should act as fuel.

A few weeks ago at The Flood, on the subject of vocation, we were all invited to focus on the following question, and it has stuck with me ever since.  Each morning, it is the question I greet the day with, and one I continuously refer back to.

photo

While the tasks and work for the day loom ahead, the important thing I always remember is that I have a choice.  I have a choice with what I do for the day, how I attack my tasks, and my attitude towards them.  Sometimes, when plans change, things go wrong, or whenever I am faced with a decision–whatever it is–I ask God what He wants me to do–and I am guided.

Everything we do is a choice, and I cannot think of a better way to start out my days and weeks than by asking my Maker.

jn

Leave some love

