Music of a (Half) Marathon – Tinker Bell Half Marathon 2014

tink half

Well, that break sure was short lived.  This Sunday, just one week after completing the Goofy’s Race and a Half Challenge at Disney World (the Walt Disney World Half Marathon and WDW Marathon), I will be running the Tinker Bell Half Marathon at the Disneyland Resort!  This race is especially special to me, as in 2012, this was my very first half marathon, and this will be my third year in a row running the race!  I still remember my first time running, the days leading up to it (one of my best friends Christine–a seasoned, and very fast! runner–brought me to Divine Pastabilities, and gifted me a mini crown to wear on race day, one that I still wear to most of my Disney races!), and how that run spurred on my newfound love for races.

I am still slightly sore from last weekend at Disney World, and depending on how the rest of the week goes, I do have a goal to finally PR and sub 1:54 for this race.  However, we shall see how it goes, simply because I have not been training specifically for that respective pace.

Currently, I do not have a next race planned for 2014 (still planning out how the year will turn out), and as such, I really want to use this opportunity to finish off on a high note.  I have been running nonstop for months upon months now, and I cannot even remember the last time I took a running hiatus.  From the Mammoth Half, to the America’s Finest City Half, to the Dumbo Double Dare Challenge, to the Nike Women’s Marathon, to the Wine and Dine Half, up to the Goofy Challenge last weekend, I have been going … and going … and going.  I am honestly excited to take a mini vaycay from training and to reset my mind.  So however long this break from racing is (only a few months, I’m sure), that leaves me wanting to start off this break with a PR.

So there’s that.  Sunday, I will be pushing myself for sure!

I’ll be using the same playlist I used in the Goofy Challenge, but here are a couple more songs I didn’t mention previously:

  • “Let It Go” – Frozen Soundtrack
  • “For The First Time In Forever” – Frozen Soundtrack (if you haven’t seen this movie yet, you really need to)
  • “Heaven” – Beyonce
  • “Body Ache” – Britney Spears
  • “Heart Upon My Sleeve” – Avicii
  • “We Remain” – Christina Aguilera
  • “I Can Only Imagine” Feat. Chris Brown and Lil Wayne – David Guetta
  • “Human” – Krewella
  • “Pumpin Blood” – NONONO
  • “Pour It Up” – Rihanna
  • “2013! Mix” – Grantos (51 minutes!)

Wish me luck, and happy running!

jn

5 thoughts on “Music of a (Half) Marathon – Tinker Bell Half Marathon 2014

      1. I love Idina Menzel’s version, but ultimately, Demi won out because the beat seemed at a better running tempo.

        Enjoy the race! It’s my first runDisney race and my first half Marathon, but it sounds like you are a pro.

Leave some love

