2013: the strugglefest

1b2d2c9363253d697f655dd96b66401a

Happy New Year’s Eve!

I’ve been sitting and thinking a lot about how the year 2013 was for me and I honestly wondered if I was even going to write a blog post on it.  I have to admit that I am almost too excited for the year to be over.  But I have had to learn that this blog has not only been a tool for me to use during good times, but one in which I have learned to share my down time.  My life is far from perfect and more than just the marathons I run, the yoga classes I take, and the random musings I have.  Just as with everyone else, there are hard times, and I have found that the important aspects of this blog that I am finding is that I have to be brave to share those as well.

For me, the past year consisted of a lot of struggles that always occupied my mind and thoughts.  Mourning a loss, struggling with the realities of some friendships, quitting my job at EY–there were definitely a lot of challenges that I still continue to deal with today.  To be completely honest, I would have to say 2013 was a struggle.  I don’t want to seem like a pessimist and describe the year with that word, but I must be honest.  But of course, as “bad” as describing the year as a struggle may seem, I have to recognize the strength and growth that comes with it.  Words by J.K. Rowling, “and so rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life,” are perfect.  The year was a challenge, it was a year I have forced myself to build strength–and for that I am grateful.

Regardless, looking back, of course there were great moments.  Being reunited with my best friends Emily, Lacey, and Amanda at Stagecoach, my vacation to NYC, yoga teacher training and extensions, rekindling old friendships in San Diego, trips to Vegas with my cousins and friends, finding the strength to quit the job I hated at EY, PRing at the Nike Women’s Marathon and of course all the races I was able to run this year, visiting Lacey in Florida, and all of the memories in between…

It wasn’t a bad year.

And I do have a lot of my friends and family to thank for helping me through it.

But I cannot wait to make 2014 my year.  I have many goals and changes I plan on making, so we will just have to see how they play out.  Until then, I hope you all have an amazing New Year’s Eve!  Less than 24 hours left … make them count!

jn

2 thoughts on “2013: the strugglefest

  1. First, thank you so much for following!! And second, the struggles are real for all of us. Know you have friends, family and a new fan who will be cheering you on during the down times!!

Leave some love

