Letting go

Lord, take me where You want me to go;
Let me meet who You want me to meet;
Tell me what You want me to say; and
Keep me out of your way.

– Father Mychal Judge, FDNY, died 9/11/01

My friend William introduced me to this prayer at the end of September when catching up and having conversation about people in our lives and other happenings.  Since then, I have found myself always coming back to it, questioning what each line brings and how I can incorporate it into my life.

What does letting go mean to me?  I actually have found this question difficult!  How can I even answer that question?  But something that always popped back into my mind was the following question: haven’t we occasionally learned that if we want something enough we have to work hard to get it, and if we endure through all the struggle to fight for what we want, we will get it?

No.  If there’s something I have learned in the past year, that’s not the case, especially when we have an ideal picture of what it is that we want.

But we can want something that is bigger than ourselves.  Broaden our desires, let go of our specific wants, and dig deeper.

For me, letting go means recognizing that I am not in control.  It means accepting what happens to me as if I had chosen it myself.  I always hear or read God’s plans for us are bigger than we could even fathom, and I have found comfort in knowing that whatever happens is supposed to happen, no matter how difficult or challenging the task may be.  It means letting things be as they are and not attaching myself to an outcome.  It means moving on.  However, this does not mean letting everything fall by the wayside.  We still have to work hard and be kind, but also have faith that everything happens for a reason.

2e68f5fe530863621da4b53ea47f6b75

I personally have been using this prayer to help me through transitions.  Quitting my job, pursuing a new career, and having new and old friends come in and out of my life has left me feeling uneasy.  But remembering that God takes me where He wants me to go, brings me to who He wants me to meet, and puts words into my mouth gives me comfort.

Some might think that letting go means giving up, but it letting go actually allows you to tackle whatever comes next so that whatever came previously no longer exhausts you.  Use your newfound energy for something that can actually help you!  Why drain ourselves?  Struggles do not always result in a reward.  There is no “prize” for going through hardships.  But what we can do is accept what comes and use this opportunity to remind ourselves that we are not in control–God is.  Let Him.

Janine

2 thoughts on “Letting go

Leave some love

