An act of faith and courage

excite

I performed a great act of courage on Monday–one I had been thinking about for quite a while now, but too afraid to take the risk and jump into the unknown. I quit my job.

I could write on and on about why I chose to do this, the path that led me to this decision, yada yada yada.  Ultimately it boils down to this: the job I have had the past year does not fulfill me in a way that I would like to be fulfilled in a career.  And it has been a terribly difficult decision for two reasons:

1. I have met incredible, intelligent, and bright people within the firm–and new friends–and it is bittersweet to leave them.

2. I was–and still am–scared half to death of taking this risk of pursuing something new.

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you.  Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul. – Psalm 143:8 NIV

On Sunday, I attended mass in Founders Chapel and spoke with an old friend and university minister, Elizabeth.  Months ago, I had talked to her briefly about my concerns at work and what I felt God was calling me to do and she supported me in finding how I can use my talents to serve others.  When I caught up with Elizabeth on Sunday and told her my plans to put my two weeks notice in, she congratulated me on this tremendous “act of faith.” 

I believe I am a hard worker.  I believe I know how to fight for what I want.  And I have faith that God provides.  There is something in me that the world needs and I am eager to contribute.  I am incredibly excited for this new adventure!

live

A million and a half thanks to all of those people who have supported me throughout this decision, most especially my parents, Lacey, and Avery, to really name a few.  There have been so many people who I have spoken with who have pushed me one way or another or prompted me to truly start thinking about what I want in life and in a career, what I love, and how that manifests in a dream.  But most importantly, I have a heart full of gratitude to all of those people I know who chase after their dreams and never lose sight of them.  You are the ones who inspire me to do fulfilling work that allows me to serve others.

Please pray for me!

Janine

4 thoughts on “An act of faith and courage

Leave some love

