Wake with gratitude – Lacey

Lacey 5

A few weeks ago, I wrote about making more of an effort to express gratitude to those influential people who have changed my life.  To be honest, it has been hard to take the time to actually do this, but that alone just goes to show how necessary it is and how I do not do it enough.  Finally, I told myself to make the time to do it, and I cannot think of anyone better to start with than my best friend, Lacey, as we were just reunited over the weekend in Las Vegas.  Three months apart is too long!

Lacey is my angel.  It is as simple as that.  We met during our freshman year at USD as we lived on the same floor on campus.  She was one of my very first friends and I honestly do not think I could have guessed how much this beautiful, genuine, and special girl would change my life.  From freshman year shenanigans on campus, to living together in the Vistas sophomore year, to studying abroad apart our junior year, and the ups and downs of senior year, Lacey has never left my side.  I have enjoyed every moment we’ve spent together, whether it has been visits to each others’ homes, exploring Paris, Madrid, and Florence together, Stagecoach, Las Vegas, or even my favorite moments when we sit and watch The Bachelorette, One Tree Hill (a classic!), or Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition.  Our runs give me energy, our Skype calls make my entire day, and being with her warms my heart.

My first post-grad year was a very rough one for me.  A lot of changes really rocked me.  I would not have gotten through the past couple of months as best as I did if it were not for Lacey’s text messages, phone calls, Skype calls, and overall constant support.  It blew my mind.  I remember one night when I was in tears; seeing and hearing Lacey cry for me just made me cry even more.  How could someone feel for me like that?  That’s Lacey– caring, selfless, and inspiring.

Lacey is the kindest person I know.  Combine the big smiles she gives with the heart that feels for everyone she meets, Lacey is the friend I know, without a doubt, will be a lifelong.  How incredibly lucky am I that I get to have her in my life!  How lucky anyone is to have her as a friend.

Thank you Lacey, for being you, the best friend I could have.  I love you so much.  I can’t wait until we are together again.  Countdown to November!

With love, Janine

4 thoughts on “Wake with gratitude – Lacey

Leave some love

