Feeling Free

So this odd to think about, but I graduated just over a year ago–and it is incredibly hard to believe because I honestly feel as if I just graduated yesterday.  Over the past couple of weeks, I have found myself doing a lot of things that post-grads may end up doing–making new friends, moving, taking up new activities, exploring new places.

Along those lines, I recently met the lovely Avery (who has an amazing inspiration and lifestyle blog, by the way, check it out!).  I really had to think to myself–when was the last time I made a new friend?!  Too long.  Of course, I meet new people all of the time, but I repeat, when was the last time I made a new friend–especially after losing the endless opportunities to meet new people during college?  Someone new that I actually enjoy being around and could see myself hanging out with on a regular basis?  It’s a rare and special occasion to meet someone like that and I make it point to truly cherish those people.

Avery recently suggested to her readers her “Top 8 Ideas for a Date” … with yourself.  And what actually surprised me about this post was how many of those things from her list I could cross off.  So much of my first post grad year has been taking myself out on a good number of solo dates, whether it is a night in, or a long run, or exploring new places to eat, or practicing yoga.  I have spent a lot of time alone–and I am not ashamed of it.

With starting a new job and my best friends leaving, I never recognized until now how much time I spent with me, myself, and I.  A lot of changes since graduating have led me on this path, and I am grateful to have this opportunity to grow as in individual and learn about myself, but I also know that I am slowly letting go of that part of my life and ready to get back to the outspoken, loud, and adventurous person I once was.  This summer has been amazing already with so many exciting things happening and and even more exciting things coming up.

I feel free.  Free to do anything I want.  And I cannot wait to see what’s next.  The future is exciting.

With love, Janine

One thought on “Feeling Free

Leave some love

